Jasprit Bumrah Punished By ICC In Asia Cup 2025 Row; Another India Pacer Found Not Guilty

Jasprit Bumrah Penalized by ICC in Asia Cup 2025 Incident

Jasprit Bumrah received one demerit point from the International Cricket Council (ICC) for his 'plane' send-off gesture directed at Haris Rauf during the Asia Cup 2025 final between India and Pakistan.

“Jasprit Bumrah (India) accepted a charge under Article 2.21 for conduct that brings the game into disrepute and the proposed sanction of an official warning, which resulted in one demerit point. As he accepted the sanction, no formal hearing was required.”

Background of the Incident

Haris Rauf was previously criticized for making a 'crashing plane' gesture during the Super 4 match between India and Pakistan, referencing the military tensions between the two countries. In the final, Bumrah took Rauf's wicket in the 18th over and mimicked his gesture as a send-off.

Arshdeep Singh Found Not Guilty

Separately, India fast bowler Arshdeep Singh faced a hearing by ICC Match Referee Andy Pycroft for an alleged breach of conduct during the same Super 4 match. He was ultimately cleared of all charges.

“Following a hearing conducted by ICC Match Referee Andy Pycroft: Arshdeep Singh (India) was found not guilty of an alleged breach of Article 2.”

Summary

The ICC disciplined Bumrah with a warning and demerit point for his send-off gesture, while Arshdeep Singh was exonerated, highlighting the ongoing scrutiny of player conduct amidst India-Pakistan cricket rivalries.

Author’s summary: Jasprit Bumrah was sanctioned by the ICC for unsportsmanlike conduct in the Asia Cup 2025 final, while teammate Arshdeep Singh was cleared after a separate hearing.

more

NDTV Sports NDTV Sports — 2025-11-04